About Us


Mission Statement

To protect Hawaiian sea turtles through education, public awareness and conservation, all in the Spirit of Aloha.

Who We Are

Malama na Honu (Protect the Turtles) is a tax-exempt non profit entity that was created in 2007 to become the successor to the “Show Turtles Aloha” campaign originated by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration’s Marine Turtle Research Program in 2005. Our organization is made up of over 95 dedicated and knowledgeable volunteer “Honu Guardians” who are on the beach every day of the year to prevent intentional and inadvertent harassment of the Hawaiian Green Sea Turtles as they bask peacefully on the beach and to provide educational outreach to the public by imparting facts about the turtles, explaining their behaviors and creating an awareness of the ongoing need to protect this “threatened” species.

Persons interested in helping the Honu at Laniakea may do so through donations, symbolic Honu adoptions or by volunteering their time at the beach. 

Board of Directors

Joseph Murphy


Don Porter

Vice President; Fund Raising Chairman

Beverly Murphy


Kylie Emily


Debbie Herrera

Board Member; Volunteer &
Education Coordinator

Candy Peach

Board Member

Kelly Hardy

Board Member

Denice Painter

Board Member

Erika Dittmar

Board Member


Joanne Pettigrew

Founder & Historian

Jim Kennedy

Director Emeritus


Noteworthy Service by Malama na Honu Beach Volunteers

Hours through 12/31/18

Most Lifetime Beach Hours Protecting the Honu & Educating the Public
1. Janis Honda 2,873
2. Sonny Sampaga 2,744
3. Debbie Herrera 2,056
4. Joe Murphy 1,603
5. Bev Murphy 1,560
6. Don Porter 1,447
7. Gayle Kriese 1,386
8. Vicki Dela Cruz 1,378
9. Jan Shea 1,354
10. Donna Orr 1,327
11. Jim Kennedy 1,239
12 Joanne Pettigrew 1,174
Most 2018 Beach Hours Protecting the Honu & Educating the Public
1. Janis Honda 396
2. Debbie Herrera 277
3. Brand1 Calvert 271
4. Lolita Ayala 247
5. Don Porter 203
6. Bev Murphy 170
7. Joe Murphy 169
8. Duane Voss 151
9. Janet Voss 146
10. Amy Hawkins 128
11. Jamie Dixon 127
12. Vicki Dela Cruz 120